Tags

, , , ,


The other night I, literally, did not sleep a wink.  My mind raced the whole night about possibilities. I wrote things down, I checked updates, I read scripture, and I even ate leftover green chile enchiladas (thanks, Babe).  The next day, my body was out of whack.  I was of no use to anyone.  It made me think of how our lives are sometimes out of whack.

The human body consists of many systems.  Depending on who you talk to, there are between nine and eleven systems such as the circulatory, respiratory, and reproductive systems.  In order for there to be health in the body, all these systems need to work well and in unity with one another.  They depend on each other.  When one or more systems are out of whack, then there is a threat of disease, or as I will call it, DisEase.

Conversely, our existence is also made up of LifeSystems.  In general, our LifeSystems are comprised of our BodyLife, our SoulLife, and our SpiritLife.  If any one of these LifeSystems are not working well, or are in disunity, then there is danger of DisEase as well.

On one end of the spectrum, our BodyLife is all about our connection with the tangible things of this life such our bodies (i.e. nutrition, fitness, energy), and our possessions. 

On the other side, our SpiritLife determines how we interact with deeply rooted convictions and beliefs such as our faith, intuition, and wisdom. 

In the middle resides our SoulLife, or as I life to call it, the mission control of our being.  Not only is it the seat of our mind, our will, and our emotions, but it also determines how we will lead our lives.  It determines how we will approach our families, our relationships, and our careers.  It searches for answers to the age-old questions about what gives us meaning, a sense of purpose or fulfillment.

So, how do we keep each LifeSystem healthy and working in unity?  Is it even possible in this age of distraction, procrastination, and imbalance.

Consider how Jesus was described at the age of twelve years old in Luke 2:52;

 “Jesus grew in wisdom and in stature and in favor with God and all the people.”

My goal is to compel thoughtful interaction, so please feel free to comment below.  Soon, I will be writing about LifeWorkouts.

~Steve

