Tags

, ,


The other day, I challenged a good friend to a workout. 

You see, he’s a black belt martial artist and I am an endurance athlete.  I texted him to ask when he was going to man up and go on a run with me.  He responded by saying that he was up for the run… after I went to a MMA workout with him.  As soon as we cut through the testosterone-induced banter that followed, we set a date.

Bright and early the next Monday morning at 6 a.m., we met outside his place.  We took off and just started talking.  It really wasn’t meant to be highly intense workout, it was more about multi-tasking; getting in a great workout and reconnecting with a great friend.  Before we knew it, our legs had swiftly carried us across three miles and it didn’t even phase either of us.  My friend quipped about how easy the run was with a partner.  Later in the week, he told me that he had duplicated the same run by himself and that it was much harder.  It reminded me about the value of fellowship.

Fellowship is a biblical term that is loosely defined as sharing in someone’s journey.  My pastor uses the joke that it is “two fellows in one ship”.  I like that description.

Every one of us is on a journey.  Every one of us is trying to work out life.  I called these LifeWorkouts.  When we face life alone it can be hard.  If life were likened to a marathon, the miles never seem to pass quick enough and it may seem that are going to “bonk”, or shut down.  It is hard to find the internal courage and strength to push through these walls.

That’s when its important to travel our journeys with friends.  When I train for a marathon or a triathlon with a training partner, the minutes and the miles go by so much faster and easier.  When we share in each other’s life struggles, it doesn’t mean that the struggles will go away, but we have increased energy, strength, and drive to dig deep and push through them.

One of my favorite scriptures, Proverbs 27:17, says, “As iron sharpens iron, so a friend sharpens a friend.”

So, find a ship, find a friend, and go for a ride together!

~Steve Chaparro, www.LifeWorkout.net

