Tags

, , , , , , ,


 

Okay, so here’s the deal…I’ve been off the radar a little lately!  Well, I guess you could say that I have been missing in action for about 25 days and it’s time to face the music!

If you have followed my LifeWorkout Challenge since I started 51 days ago, you will notice that I have not posted anything since day 16.  Some have asked me if I have abandoned the journey and the answer is no!  While I have not thrown in the towel, I can say that I have not been entirely successful in achieving the balance between my faith, family, fitness, or finances that I originally hoped for. 

Here’s why;

I can say that I have been able to still maintain focus on my faith, family, and finances.  The only way that I was able to do this was by saying “no” to my fitness for a little while.  Yes, that means that I have been AWOL from P90x for a while.  While it pains me to say it because I am a passionate about fitness, I had to pay special attention to some other things that required laser focus.

I know…

Some of you are going to say that is a cop-out.  Some of you are going to say that it is an excuse to get a little lazy about doing the P90x thing.  I am not going to completely argue with you as P90x is a very challenging 90-day commitment.  On one hand it is very intense and provides clear results to the disciplined person, it is also a regimen that I am not used to at all on the mental side.  Tony Horton says that P90x offers a way to shut off the mind and just follow his lead.  However, when I go out for a long run or a long ride, being able to let my mind wander is one of the joys of endurance sports.  Some of my greatest inspirations for sermons or even blog posts occur during these long jaunts.  I love these moments.  So, while I am going to get back on the fitness journey, I am seriously wondering if P90x will in fact be the fitness vehicle versus starting my training for my next marathon or triathlon.  I don’t know yet.

However, the reason I chose to say no to fitness was because I am in the middle of preparing to launch a new business.  This means marketing, networking, studying for licensing exams (I have one more to go), and frankly, it got overwhelming.  I felt that I needed to refocus on the fitness because it is a part of me that can be addictive to the point of diminishing other priorities.

Honestly, some of you may not buy this reason, but honestly, I don’t really care.  It’s my journey and I know myself.  I know my tendencies and I am beginning to understand the boundaries that I need to set for myself.  I am passionate about working out each area of my life, but not at the sacrifice of those that are most important.

My faith comes first.  My family comes second.  My career/vocation/finances comes next.  Then, my fitness pursuits needs to come last.  I have seen that when fitness starts to inch up the priority list, things start to unravel.  I started to see that happening so I pulled back a little, but now I am going to start going out for run and rides and we’ll have to see about P90x.

While I may not be terribly concerned with whether you agree with this rationale, I AM interested to see if you have had to make similar decisions in your life.

So, let’s talk about it.  I certainly hope that my frankness and transparency about my journey encourages you to be real to heal.  My last post about “cheating” represented the most read post to date which indicates to me that people can relate with real issues and with people who are not afraid to be real.

~Steve

